SERVE

I’ve always desired (my entire life) to be a great person, someone who will make a lasting impact in this generation and to the generations after me. Like how Einstein contributed to the fields of science, or Beethoven to music, Michael Jordan to basketball, and lots of geniuses in the modern day like Steve Jobs or Bill Gates. Ever since I was a child, I wanted my name to be etched in the books of history.

Then reality hit me in the face saying, “IT IS IMPOSSIBLE”.

I am not uniquely talented in a certain aspect or focus, because I wanted to be good at everything. To put it simply, some say that I am a ‘Jack of all trades but master of none’. And for me it’s not cool. I want to be absolutely focused at one skill but I just can’t seem to have the motivation. In the middle, I would back out and try something new.

But it’s unfair because the lingering passion to be the best or even known at something is still consuming the innermost part of me.

I WANT TO BE GREAT, IF NOT THE GREATEST!!!

It sort of became pride that affected me in a way that I compare myself to other people, desiring to be better than them, especially those who have gone ahead of me.

It’s not good.

I know God won’t like that attitude, so I tried my hardest not to look at others but just my own performance, competing only against myself. To be honest, it is plainly difficult. It’s like it’s automatic in me to compare myself to others to assure my ego that I am the better person.

And then just like that, wisdom hit me at my other cheek, IF YOU WANT TO BE GREAT, SERVE.

WHAT?! Seriously?

I didnt understand. How can someone who only serves be great? Aren’t the ones who gets served the ones who are truly great? Like the bosses or CEOs of a company.

But the one who spoke the words “If you want to be great, serve one another, in love” is not a mere human but Jesus Himself.

Jesus. The Son of God, the Creator of the Universe, the King of kings, the Greatest above All, the Almighty and All-Powerful, went here on Earth and He became human to show the greatest example of service, by healing the sick, giving hope to humanity, washing the feet of his disciples, and laying down His life for the salvation of mankind. He who deserves all glory, honor and praise, served the most undeserving people, by doing all of these things to show His unconditional love and exemplified a life worth imitating.

If we want to extend hope to this Nation and to this World, be like Christ: SERVE. Serve with the best that you have. Serve with love. Always think of ways how to help people and the greatest example of help is sharing the gospel. Treat others better and more significant than yourself. Prioritize them. It is not easy, but it is possible. Step by step, it will make an impact and healing to a dying Earth.

If you want to be great, SERVE.

If anyone would be first, he must be last of all and servant of all.” – Jesus

3 thoughts on “SERVE

  1. I also compare myself with everybody and always try to find some negative points in the front person. Those negative points makes myself feel more superior than the other. This is a bad type of. EGO. Can you suggest anything that will help me to get out of these comparing habit.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think you should focus on your strengths rather than others’ weaknesses then work it out to be the best version of yourself. Best way is to be content with what you have. Remember that we are all created uniquely and differently that’s why our skills vary and that should drive us to embrace our own and be great in our own style.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

